Home :: Site Map :: Contact Us
  Minutes of the IFAA AGM 2015 held on 12.09. 2015

The minutes (Modified ) of the IFAA AGM 2015  held on 12.09. 2015

The Annual Day Celebrations 2015 of IFAA was held on 12.09.2015 at the Seminar hall of the School of Industrial Fisheries, Lake side Campus. The inaugural function started with an invocation.  This was followed by the report presentation.  IFAA Secretary Smt. Anita Joseph presented detailed report on various activities of the IFAA for the year 2014-15, on power point with photos of the various events including the AGM 2014. The dignitaries were then invited to the dais.

 Dr.John Mohan, Jt Treasurer and Alumni member from first batch welcomed the gathering. IFAA President Shri Edwin Joseph presided over the function. In his presidential address he congratulated all the award winners and thanked all the members for their whole hearted co-operation and support for facilitating the all programs for the last year. He advised younger generation of alumni to come forward and associate with the activities and contribute for the welfare of the same.

 Dr. C.N. Ravi Shanker , Director CIFT, Kochi was the chief guest of the day. Dr. Ravi Shanker shared his happiness on being invited to for the function and recalled his long time association with Dr. C.T Samuel and the School of Industrial Fisheries and he praised IFAA for their efforts to address the issues in the fisheries sector. He added that CIFT can collaborate with activities of IFAA for the benefit of the fisheries sector of the country. Dr. Ravi Shanker gave the various awards of excellence instituted by the alumni. The Life Time Achievement Award for Dr. Shahul Hameed was received by Prof. Dr. C.T. Samuel on his behalf. IFFA honored Dr. John Mohan., Asst. Professor School of Industrial Fisheries with Meritorious Service Award for successful completion of three and half decades of service at SIF, CUSAT. Bright scholar Awards instituted by the IFAA UAE Chapter for the first rank holders MSc IF and M.F.Sc Seafood Safety and Trade were given  to Mr. Abhishek Singh and Kum Jisil Jose. Awards of excellence were given to the Ph.D holders Dr.S. Abhilash and Dr. Genson Joseph and to Dr. Molly Varghese, National Award Winner in Hindi essay competiton and to Shri Praveen who was elected to the CUSAT Senate. Members of 13th, 14th and 15th batches, of MSc I.F. were also honored for their achievements in their respective fields of career.

Prof. (Dr) C.T. Samuel, former director of Dept. of Industrial Fisheries addressed the meeting and extended his blessings for all future endeavors of the association. Prof. Samuel recollected his memories on functioning of initial stages of the Department of IF and advised the students and members to utilize the facilities available for the academic benefit and contribute towards welfare of the fisheries sector.

Shri Baburaj, Vice President of IFAA extended vote of thanks. The inaugural function ended with National Anthem.

This was followed by the interactive session between alumni and present batch students. Alumni answered the career related questions raised by students. During the interactive session Dr Abhilash, who was appointed as Asst Prof. KUFOS explained the seriousness of the issue on qualifications, for which his selection was challenged in High court of Kerala by Alumni Association of BFSc, KUFOS, Panangad. He explained that with the judgment was in his favour, he got appointment and whole of  IFians  benefitted.  Dr .Ramachandran also explained the gravity of situation and AGM agreed to the same. Dr. Abhilash expressed his grievances over the level of involvement of the IFAA on his court case for his appointment at KUFOS. In response to the grievance of Dr. Abhilash, President of IFAA Shri Edwin Joseph clarified that the executive deliberated on the issue and IFAA offered to join as a party to the case without financial commitments as IFAA was not having adequate financial resources to associate with court cases as there had been many service related cases in the past and is likely to arise in future also.

President assured that considering the gravity of this case in future if the issue goes for  higher appeal, IFFA will take initiative to raise the fund from members who are willing to contribute for the common cause. AGM also agreed to the same and opined to send message to all members in this regard. Shri Padmajan informed he can give reference of good advocates, in case it is required to represent the matter at higher courts and he offered an amount of Rs. 10,000 towards the same. Smt Sairabhanu also shared her experience in service matter connected with State fisheries department, where individual  only approached the court.

Further to the interactive session there was election of new office bearers. The list of the new committee members are given below.

Office bearers for the year 2015-2016.

President          : Shri Edwin Joseph
Vice President   : Shri. Baburaj.T
Secretary          : Dr. Shibu.A.V.
Treasurer           : Smt. Anita Joseph
Joint Secretary   :  Shri Nithin C.T.
Joint Treasurers : Shri. T. Padmajan & Dr. Genson Joseph.

Executive members

Dr. A. Ramachandran.

Shri. Venugopalan T.N
Dr.M. Harikrishnan
Shri. Pradip Mahato
Dr. Sabu. S.

Shri. Praveen

Web editor
Smt. Anita Joseph

Editorial Board
Dr. George Ninan
Dr.Sini Joys Mathew
Dr. Saleela.K
Dr.Jomol Antony


Web Managers
Dr. Gipson Edappazham
Shri. Pradip Mahato

Dr. Renju Revi

The AGM was followed by Lunch and the meeting dispersed at 2.45pm.


Alumni Members Sign In
Registered IFians
Total 246
New 0
Search Batch Mates
 About SIF :: IF Alumni :: Links :: Contact Us Copyright © 2009 Industrial Fisheries Alumni Association.